Heart Chakra

The Connection Between Matter and Spirit

Fourth Chakra: Anahata (Green) or the Heart chakra is at the middle of the seven chakras and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The fourth is also spiritual but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection.

This chakra deals with complex emotions, compassion, devotion, unconditional love, rejection, and well-being.

  • How can you show more compassion towards others?
  • What is something that you can wholly devote yourself to?
  • Tell about a time someone you love did something horrible, yet you still loved them.
  • Set a goal right now. What is it and how will you reach it?
  • Tell about a time you were rejected.
  • Tell about a time you went out of your way for the sake of others
  • In what ways can you enhance your physical well-being?
  • In what ways can you enhance your mental well-being?
  • In what ways can you enhance your emotional well-being

When we work through our physical chakras, or the first three, we can open the spiritual chakras more fully.

The Location for this chakra is the heart, lungs, arms and thymus.  Its element is air and the crystals are Rose Quartz and Aventurine.  Its emanating color is Green and its balancing color is Red.

This chakra is identified with social aspects and its lesson is self-acceptance.  The rights and responsibilities are to love and be loved.  The balanced chakra energy is loving, caring, shows compassion, accepting, loving to self and others, peaceful, content, centered, trusting and non-judgmental.  Its challenge is grief.

Excessive chakra energy is co-dependent (too much focus on others), poor boundaries, jealousy, being a martyr and being a pleaser.

The deficient chakra energies it deals with are antisocial, withdrawn, critical, intolerant, lonely, isolated, lacking empathy.

Yoga postures associated with this charka are chest/shoulder openers, backbends to increase energy, forward bends to decrease energy, fish, cobra, and bridge.

Other healing activities include breathing work, actively practicing self-acceptance of self and others, forgiveness, gratitude and love